This project has now ended. Read on to discover its highlights and achievements.


Article detail

Return to News
Jun 2014

iMobility Awards Ceremony, 2014 Winners

The iMobility Awards ceremony took place at the European Commission Stand during the 10th ITS European Congress which took place in Helsinki on Wednesday 18 June 2014 at 5.30 pm.

Hermann Meyer, CEO of ERTICO – ITS EUROPE, and Lina Konstantinopoulou, iMobility Support Coordinator welcomed the attendees by highlighting the importance of the iMobility Awards in recognising and promoting ambitious and innovative iMobility deployments, paving the way to safe, smart and clean road mobility. 

Presiding over the Awards Ceremony, Lina Konstantinopoulou congratulated all the nominees, paying tribute to their high calibre and professionalism, before calling the three winners to the stage to hand over their awards. The iMobility Awards were handed over by the 4 chairs of the iMobility Forum, EC, ERTICO, ACEA, ASECAP.

In the industry/technology category, TomTom - represented by Mr Theo Kamalski - received the Award by Marko Jandrisits, ASECAP for their outstanding work in the deployment of real time travel and traffic information in Europe, and especially on providing users with maximum value and minimising distraction.

In the policy category, Rijkswaterstaat - represented by Mr Frans Op de Beek - was rewarded by the European Commission, DG CONNECT for their key contribution to the development of a new policy framework for ITS in The Netherlands and their continuous contribution to overcome barriers for the implementation and deployment of ITS in Europe.

In the national/local category, HeERO I and II - represented by Andy Rooke, ERTICO – ITS EUROPE - received the Award by Aldo Celasco, ACEA for the projects’ outstanding contributions to successfully deploy eCall at national level.

A special, discretionary iMobility Award 2014 (life time achievement award) was given by Hermann Meyer, ERTICO – ITS EUROPE to Mr Juhani Jaaskelainen, in recognition of his dedication throughout his working life to transport and intelligent mobility, spending almost 20 years in the European Commission (in DG III, INFSO and CONNECT) and being chair of the iMobility Forum.  

Return to News